Friday, 31 August 2012

Radio Republican

Just in case anyone was wondering, I'm kind of keeping abreast of what's going on at the RNC Convention in Tampa.  Bits and pieces, you know? Actually commenting on it is pretty hard, though, since the whole thing comes across as a thuggish Thatcherite cheese dream with added grits.

I mean, how am I supposed to process the fact that a major pull at the convention is screenings of a "documentary" that
exposes the Occupy movement, revealing the “sinister, organized, and highly orchestrated nature of its leaders and their number-one goal: not just to change government, but to destroy it.”
What?  I thought the Tea party wanted to destroy government.  I thought that was, like, their entire thing, other than saying it's really unfair to call them racists just because 49% of them are and the other 51% don't seem to care about that fact at all.  If Occupy really was about the destruction of government - as oppose to destroying people's willingness to engage with government, which is its own problem - then wouldn't the "Taxed Enough Already!" people be happy to join forces with them?  Or is the real problem that once both groups had torn down DC some of the Occupy people would want to be gay in amongst the ruins?

One thing that all this swirling childish resentment has achieved is to clarify exactly why I despise Mitt Romney as a person, as oppose to just as a man determined to make his fellow citizens lives worse whilst lying to them about it.  It's all this "No apology" bullshit.  Romney won't apologise to other countries for killing their civilians.  He won't apologise to the working class for making a fuckton of money by sensibly timing the exact moment he could fuck them over and make the biggest profit.  Nor will he apologise for taking the money he extracted from vulnerable companies and stashing it in the Cayman Islands so that the government he claims to want to lead couldn't slice off its share in order to keep the country he claims to want to run actually, you know, fucking running.

In terms of personality defects (as oppose to actions), there is nothing, absolutely nothing, than I despise more than the idea that refusing to apologise represents strength of character. George W Bush was exactly the same way, of course; when asked about the worst moment of his presidency the rubber-faced mass-murderer had the neck to bitch about Kayne West being mean to him.  Gods forbid he choose anything that might be interpreted as something approaching regret.

Apologising is hard.  Not apologising is monumentally fucking easy.  Blaming other people is monumentally fucking easy.  Deciding you don't need to say "sorry" because the other guy is a dick anyway or because you've had a bad day or because other people do way worse stuff has been hardwired into our brains ever since the first homo erectus stole the mammoth meat from the second homo erectus on the basis of seniority.  "Stop apologising so much!" "Sorry!" is an easy joke in feeble sitcoms, but out here in the real world 99.9% of the population could stand to apologise more often and more sincerely than they do, and God I know I'm one, as the song goes.

Of course, this is all part of what, despite it's exist origins and associated difficulty of use, I genuinely can't think of a better name for than the Cult of Cuntiness.  The celebration of never apologising.  Of never showing gratitude.  Of giggling whilst the bombs are going off in central Baghdad.  The confusion of pathologies for virtue, and the idea that the worst angels of a nature are the ones that should be listened to above all others, and somehow that we should be impressed by those who do so.  This is by no means the exclusive province of the right, but it is the right that has institutionalised it.  It's in Thatcherism, root and branch.  It's in Osborne's "there is no Plan B" posturing.  And across the stormy Atlantic, in rain-streaked Tampa buildings, it suffuses the air like mustard gas, with no dissimilar promises of suffering.

In 67 days, we'll see just how far the cloud has spread.

Also, since it's Friday:

Thursday, 30 August 2012

SpaceSquid vs. The X-Men #41: The Shifting Psyche


Well, this has taken a while, hasn't it?

There are two reasons why I haven't come back to SS v X in over a year, and both of them involve today's focus: Danielle Moonstar.  The first is fairly simple; Mirage graduated to the X-Men a little over a decade ago, but she's never been around too much in the main books. Add that to the fact she's been a fan favourite in various spin-offs since she first appeared in the early '80s, and you have a character about which a great deal can be said by others, but not really by myself.

The other problem is perhaps somewhat more interesting.  Mirage, like Thunderbird and Forge before her, is a Native American, and I'm worried that I'm beginning to sound like a broken record when it comes to discussing that particular group in these articles.  Simply put, I'm concerned that repeatedly lamenting the similarities of their characters is in itself reinforcing the idea that Native American characters are all the same. Am I picking up on a genuine problem?  Or am I contributing to it with ham-fisted analysis?

Monday, 27 August 2012

A Tale Of Cocktails #31

Raspberry Tipple Plus
.
Ingredients
.
1 oz blue curacao
1 oz Chambord
5 oz lemonade
.
Taste: 7          
Look: 6          
Cost: 9      
Name: 8
Prep: 7
Alcohol: 2
Overall: 6.8

Preparation: Shake liqueurs and strain into cocktail glass holding ice. Add lemonade and stir.
 .
General Comments: This is a tough one to judge. It's somewhat disappointing, but I can't tell if that's a fault of the drink itself or because of how much I enjoy blue curacao and Chambord separately. Certainly there's a sense that the two are working against each other as well, and the lemonade is no help there either. I don't want to be too down on the drink, it's nice and sweet and looks and sounds quite cool. It just should have been better than it is.

Sunday, 26 August 2012

When Dogs Are Gorgeous


Excited puppy dogs, it turns out, can be damn hard to pin down on camera.


After a great deal of trial and error, though, I can reveal the true unbearable cuteness of Molly the dog.



Friday, 24 August 2012

Friday Paint Of The Nation

I've not really finished anything for a little while now (other than a spare veteran for my Dark Angels), but I'm partway through enough projects that I thought it might be worth taking a look at whats on my painting table.

(Full credit to Jamie for (eventually) coming up with an excellent idea for improving my photography.  This probably isn't what The Other Half had in mind when she left her epidemiology notes on my lounge floor, but that just demonstrates the importance of cleaning up after oneself).

First up, I've finally finished the hull of the Heldenhammer.  I'm hoping I get the sails done more quickly (i.e. in less than eight and a half months), but I guess we'll see.




Also in progress are two Talisman miniatures; the flamboyant swashbuckler and the vicious werewolf:


(Dental hygiene is important for lycanthropes).

I'm also trying to increase my rate of Space Hulk painting to a bewildering two miniatures a year:


and I've re-based my Tully bannermen as well, ready for a new arrival which I'll be starting any day now.  Who will join their ranks this time?  I'll give you a clue: I now think I've sharpened my painting skills sufficiently for an attempt at rendering titties.


Edit: How strange.  It's not until looking at the pictures when the post had gone up that I noticed that the House Vance musician has misplaced his shield.  I wonder where that's ended up?

Thursday, 23 August 2012

Music Of The Spheres

I just learned that geometrist and Field medal-winner William Thurston passed away on Tuesday. I've never really got geometry.  Not the applications, of course, which are clear, varied and important.  Nor even the attraction, I suppose - I remember clearly the first time I learned of the Pythagorean Theorem, and just being blown away by the idea that mathematics could demonstrate such a thing; everything I'd learned up to that point being either intuitively obvious or simple enough to verify.

But I never really understood why anyone would dedicate their career to it.  Of course, probability is just the most mathematically rigorous way possible to fail to predict the future, so it's not like my choice is necessarily any better.  And looking at what Thurston achieved, it's hard to fault his choice.  Anyone who gets so good in a given field that everyone else stays away from it in case he solves the whole shebang before they've gotten a chance to play is worthy of some considerable respect (though I wish "Thurston's Monster Theorem" involved fewer closed hyperbolic 3-manifolds, and more minotaurs).

Plus, on top of everything, his work was interesting enough to inspire Grigori Perelman, the charmingly lunatic Russian geometrist who solved the Poincare Conjecture - which even I'd heard of - leading to him also being awarded the Field Medal, though he refused to accept it.

All Downhill From Here

One of these days I really should get around to slapping together a quick statistical analysis regarding GCSE results year by year.  Apparently this year they're actually down for a change, which, you know, is what can happen with such things as "variables".

Until I've had time to think and study past data, I've no intention of coming anywhere close to speculating whether this dip is significant, but I will confess to more than a little interest in how people spin this.  The Guardian's quotes seem to be going with the idea that this is too big a dip, which has been caused by overly harsh marking in order to bring about precisely this effect.  That's possible; I've no idea.

I'm looking forward to seeing what other people come up with.  What will those who have insisted year after year that the GCSEs are becoming easier claim this time round?  That this time the exam boards have got it right?  Or that this is proof that teachers are failing or that kids are getting less willing to sit down and learn?

A shiny penny for the first person to spot someone blaming "Broken Britain".

PS: Congratulations to everyone who got the grades they wanted.